屈臣氏集團宣布跟微笑行動合作 「Give a Smile笑亮童心」全球醫療公益行動

屈臣氏集團今日宣布,將與專門為唇顎裂及臉部缺陷的兒童提供矯型手術的慈善機構「微笑行動」建立長期國際合作夥伴關係。「Give a Smile笑亮童心」行動的目標是在2019年年底前為約1,000名患有唇顎裂(俗稱兔唇)的兒童提供免費修復手術,讓他們綻放笑容,為他們的未來燃點新希望。屈臣氏集團早年是一間為貧苦大眾贈醫施藥的小型藥房,過去177年來一直回饋社會,而這次的全球企業社會責任計劃則是這段歷史上另一個里程碑。

屈臣氏集團首席營運總監兼集團全球企業社會責任委員會成員倪文玲表示:「屈臣氏集團以為人帶來歡笑為使命,服務對象除了顧客外,還有社會上有需要人士。集團聯合遍佈全球的業務單位,攜手支持微笑行動,幫助唇顎裂的兒童展露笑顏。」

為弱勢兒童添歡顏
微笑行動成立於1982年,是個專門為唇顎裂兒童提供醫療救治的慈善機構,深信每個唇顎裂的兒童都應享有綻放笑容的權利,過健康正常的生活。機構指出,全球每3分鐘就有一位患有先天性唇顎裂的嬰兒出世。隨著全球人口膨脹,新症數目更有可能遠高於預期。唇顎裂會影響患者的外觀及日常生活,例如因進食困難導致明顯營養不良,而發音不全則影響語言能力,甚至在社會上遭到歧視和排斥。

屈臣氏集團致力為社會帶來正面的影響,以「令顧客會心微笑」為目標。正正就是這個願景,把屈臣氏集團和微笑行動兩個機構連成一線,並相信只要攜手合力,便能令所有人展露笑容。因此,屈臣氏集團跟微笑行動建立長期合作夥伴關係,在全球各個營運市場支援微笑行動的慈善工作。

環球使命、地方實踐
作為全球最大的國際保健美容零售商,屈臣氏集團在24個市場經營超過14,500間商店。集團善用這個廣泛的店舖網絡,針對不同市場提供全球支援,務求滿足當地需要。

為籌款資助微笑行動所提供的免費修復手術,同時提高公眾對唇顎裂的認識,這個全球計劃因應各營運市場的需要,度身制定橫跨網上和實體渠道的推廣活動。

以香港為例,屈臣氏、百佳超級市場、豐澤、屈臣氏酒窖及屈臣氏蒸餾水即將推出一系列的社交媒體活動如Facebook擴增實境遊戲,以提高大眾對唇顎裂的認識;全球多個營運市場亦會參予這個以 #igiveasmile為題的社交媒體活動。易賞錢會員計劃則進行了「Walk for Charity」慈善步行活動,顧客只要每日步行8,000步,就能運動健身之餘捐款幫助慈善機構。屈臣氏集團亦在總部舉辦了壁畫創作活動、兒科急救班和蠟筆捐贈活動,在籌款的同時加強公眾意識。香港百佳超級市場舉行了填色遊戲冊慈善義賣,並鼓勵員工和顧客向微笑行動捐款。中國屈臣氏不但在微信推出社交遊戲,更跟供應商合作推出購物捐款活動。台灣屈臣氏則透過義賣一系列明星口罩籌款;而菲律賓屈臣氏將捐贈自家品牌的部份收入,讓顧客選購他們最喜歡的屈臣氏自家品牌產品的同時,參與這項改變生命的公益活動。

與此同時,屈臣氏集團亦鼓勵全球1億3千萬忠實顧客透過捐款,為這個有意義的行動出一分力。香港百佳超級市場、豐澤和屈臣氏的忠實顧客可以透過易賞錢應用程式和網路捐贈善款,而荷蘭 Kruidvat的顧客則可於網上捐出積分。未來集團亦即將為中國、菲律賓、泰國、烏克蘭和俄羅斯屈臣氏,以及The Perfume Shop的顧客推出積分捐贈計劃。

#igiveasmile社交媒體活動 讓大眾關注唇顎裂
為加強大眾對唇顎裂的認識,屈臣氏集團在社交媒體推出了一系列互動、創意十足的活動,引起社會迴響,並鼓勵員工和顧客參與。

微笑頭像框:Facebook用戶可以更換頭像相框,支持「Give a Smile笑亮童心」行動。只需在Facebook更新個人資料相片時搜尋「Give a Smile」並套用相框。

擴增實境微笑濾鏡:集團在Facebook推出融合擴增實境技術的笑容濾鏡,讓用戶設身處地想像唇顎裂帶來的外表變化,同時加強公眾對唇顎裂的意識。
可於Facebook手機應用程式試用笑容濾鏡。

「微笑背後」故事挑戰:集團邀請名人在社交媒體分享各自笑容背後的故事,呼籲粉絲接受挑戰,跟著分享自己的故事。遊戲旨在鼓勵正在面對難關的人,為他們送上希望和支持。

人工智能微笑測量儀:遊戲玩家可以上載笑容最燦爛的個人照片,讓人臉識別人工智能系統為他們的笑容評分,然後在社交媒體上分享各自的照片和笑容評分。為你的笑容評分和分享給你的朋友!

倪文玲續指:「屈臣氏集團相信,不論在哪裏,我們都應為社會作出貢獻。在為微笑行動籌款的同時,我們亦必須時刻緊記,每一個人都可以出一分力,照顧有需要人士,一個小小的行動可以為其他人的生命帶來重大改變。因此,我們很高興能夠幫助唇顎裂兒童展露笑顏,為他們的生命帶來希望及改變。」

「我們深明現代人生活繁忙,因此希望藉由社交媒體平台推廣這個公益行動。來自世界各地的顧客只需付出少許時間,便能表達慷慨善心,支持『Give a Smile笑亮童心』行動。」

Give A Smile horizontal_1200x 800_V1-01

A.S. Watson Group Announces Partnership with Operation Smile Global “Give a Smile” Medical Charity Campaign

A.S. Watson Group today announces a global, long-term partnership with Operation Smile, a charitable organisation providing corrective surgery to children born with facial disfigurements. The “Give a Smile” campaign will target to fund surgery for around 1,000 children with cleft palate or cleft lip by the end of 2019, giving them new smiles and fresh hope for a brighter future. This global CSR campaign builds on A.S. Watson Group’s long history of giving; the business began as a single, small dispensary providing free medicine to the needy, 177 years ago.

Malina Ngai, Group Chief Operating Officer of A.S. Watson Group and a Member of the Group’s Global CSR Committee, says, “A.S. Watson Group’s mission is to put a smile on people’s faces, not only our customers but also the people who most need a helping hand. We are proud to be working across our business units around the world to support Operation Smile, enabling children with cleft palate or cleft lip to smile for the first time.”

Giving a Smile to Children in Need
Founded in 1982, Operation Smile is a charitable medical service organisation, which believes that every child suffering from cleft lip or cleft palate deserve a chance to smile and live a normal, healthier life. According to Operation Smile, every 3 minutes, a child is born with a cleft lip, cleft palate or other facial deformity in the world. As world population is projected to grow, it can be out of our expectation to have an increase in the new-patient numbers. A cleft can create serious emotional and health issues. If it is not corrected, including difficulty with feeding, which can lead to malnutrition or even starvation. They may experience problems with speech development than other children. Cleft children may also suffer from bullying and social isolation.

A.S. Watson Group has a passion about making a positive difference to people with the purpose of “to put a smile on customers’ faces”. That vision is shared by Operation Smile, and it becomes a common belief that the two organisations can work together to make smile possible for all, so a long-term partnership is developed, providing support to Operation Smile’s work in operating markets around the world.


Global Mission, Local Action
As the world’s largest international health and beauty retailer, A.S. Watson Group operates over 14,500 stores in 24 markets. Leveraging such a strong and extensive network, the retail group provides global support to meet people’s local needs in different markets.

To raise money for free surgeries to be provided by Operation Smile, as well as raise public awareness of cleft issues, a global campaign is tailored to different operating markets, across all online and offline channels.

In Hong Kong, for example, Watsons, PARKnSHOP, FORTRESS, Watson’s Wine and Watsons Water are going to launch a series of digital campaigns including a Facebook AR game to raise public awareness about cleft conditions; and many operating markets will also join this social campaign themed under #igiveasmile. The MoneyBack loyalty programme ran a “Walk for Charity” campaign, so customers walking 8,000 steps a day can not only get fit but make a donation to a worthy cause. At A.S. Watson headquarters, funds and awareness have been raised through mural painting activities, a paediatric first aid class and crayon donations. PARKnSHOP Hong Kong organised charity sales of coloring books, and encouraging staff and customers to donate to Operation Smile; Watsons China launched a social game in WeChat and partnered with suppliers for donation-with-purchase. And in Taiwan, Watsons is selling collectible celebrity masks to raise money. Watsons Philippines is donating proceeds from sales of the Watsons Own Brands – customers can also participate in this life-changing cause by purchasing their favorite Watsons branded products.

A.S. Watson Group is also encouraging 130 million loyal customers around the world to participate in this meaningful cause by making donation. Loyal customers from PARKnSHOP, FORTRESS and Watsons in Hong Kong can donate via the MoneyBack app and website, while customers from Kruidvat Netherlands can also donate their points online. A points donation option for customers of The Perfume Shop, Watsons China, Philippines, Thailand, Ukraine and Russia will soon be available.

#igiveamsile Social Awareness Campaign for Cleft Conditions
To educate the public about cleft issues and raise public awareness, A.S. Watson Group has launched a series of creative and interactive campaigns on social media to create buzz and engage staff and customers.

Smile Profile Frame – Facebook users can change their profile frame to show their support for the “Give a Smile” campaign. Add your frame by searching “Give a Smile” in profile picture update!

AR Smile Changer – Using augmented reality (AR) technology, a smile changer is available on Facebook to give users a sense of what it’s like to have a cleft lip, and raise people’s awareness of cleft issues.
Run AR Smile Changer in mobile facebook app!

‘Behind the Smile’ Story Challenge – Celebrities are invited to share the stories behind their smiles on social media, and call on their fans to take up the challenge and share their own stories, too. The aim is to encourage those who are encountering difficulties in life, and give them hope and support.

AI Smile Meter – The game allows people to upload their most smiley pictures and have their smiles rated by facial-recognition artificial intelligence (AI) system. Players can then share their images, along with their smile ratings, via social media. Rate your smile and share with others now!

“A.S. Watson Group believes that our presence serves a greater good, wherever we are. In addition to raising funds for Operation Smile, it’s important to remind ourselves that everyone of us can be a carer to each other. Small acts of kindness can make a big difference to people’s lives, and we are delighted that we can help make a big difference to the lives of children with facial deformities by giving them a smile,” Malina says.

“We know that people lead busy lives, so we hope that by using social media channels to promote this campaign, our customers all over the world will spend just a moment of generosity and kindness to ‘Give a Smile’.”