Z世代推動屈臣氏集團全球銷售
數碼新生代趨向於美妝實體店消費

Z世代 (Gen Z) 泛指於1995年至2009年間出生的一代。他們人口眾多,而隨著年齡增長,Z世代的消費力亦較其他世代強、更具影響力,帶動零售潮流。

作爲全球最大的國際保健美容零售商, 屈臣氏集團一直致力與顧客保持緊密連繫,從世界各地的業務取得有用數據並進行分析,以了解Z世代顧客的購物喜好及習慣。集團全球零售品牌務求不斷創新,迎合Z世代的需求。

屈臣氏集團首席營運總監倪文玲表示 :「 Z世代是零售業的未來,他們的消費力越趨強大。我們十分重視與Z世代維持緊密連繫及互動,除了為他們提供合適的產品,品牌為他們所帶來的購物體驗亦至為重要。要滿足Z世代,數據分析擔當了相當重要的角色,有助我們了解顧客的需要、喜好及購物習慣,並調整業務策略。」


消費原動力 – Z世代

在2019年*1,Z世代成為最大的消費群,現佔全球77億人口的32%。屈臣氏集團在全球25個市場經營12個零售品牌及超過15,200家店舖。據集團的數據分析顯示, 2018年Z世代在集團旗下品牌的消費力增長了23%。

此外,該分析亦反映平均有86%的Z世代是美容愛好者。Z世代的支出超過70%是用於購買彩妝護膚產品,較其他年齡層相對是最高的。由此可見,Z世代將成為屈臣氏集團業務增長的動力,是集團當前和未來計劃的關鍵。

*1資料來源: 彭博研究 – https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2018-08-20/gen-z-to-outnumber-millennials-within-a-year-demographic-trends


個人化的購物體驗

雖然Z世代是第一代數碼新生代,但數據分析顯示他們喜歡到實體店舖購物,享受與朋友在店舖內購物的社交互動體驗。屈臣氏集團的顧客數據分析顯示99%的Z世代會於線下購物,並喜歡光顧大型商場及市中心的店舖。

數碼新生代大部分時間都花費在電子屏幕上,他們喜歡具科技元素的實體店舖,因此店內的數碼設備是推動銷售的關鍵因素; 例如在店舖中引入擴增實境技術(AR)和人工智能(AI)設備,以及透過應用程式和社交媒體連接線上和線下(O + O)體驗。 在一個英國市場調查中,19歲的Chloe Skinner表示:「當我計劃購物時,我會先在網上瀏覽及搜尋資料,但我更喜歡和朋友一起到店舖選購產品及體驗一些有趣的玩意,例如嘗試虛擬化妝鏡,創造自己的造型照片,並在社交媒體上分享。」

Z世代會基於潮流趨勢、產品價格及質素來選購護膚彩妝產品,更會一邊在店舖選購,一邊用手提電話在網上瀏覽其他顧客對產品的評價。


與Z世代緊密連繫

為吸引Z世代顧客,屈臣氏集團旗下遍佈全球的業務單位舉辦了一連串推廣活動,滿足當地市場的需求。

在亞洲,中國屈臣氏為當地學生在大學校園裡籌辦了一系列快閃活動及彩妝課程。此外,品牌在4月更爲北京、天津、石家莊及沈陽的大學生舉辦校園宣傳活動。這些活動針對Z世代的習慣和喜好而設,旨在向他們展示屈臣氏與他們擁有相同的價值觀,致力讓他們的生活變得更豐富多彩。

富趣味的互動購物體驗是吸引Z世代顧客的關鍵,台灣屈臣氏開設了首家Tech Fun 玩美概念店,店内特設最新的StyleMe虛擬試妝鏡、點點購及電子美容顧問等零售科技設備。 店舖更為Z世代顧客設計了一系列活動以推廣線上和線下(O + O)的革新購物體驗。 在2019年春季,台灣屈臣氏與研究色彩而聞名的權威機構Pantone合作推出 #BeautyMyWay活動,並宣布以「珊瑚色」為2019年的主題色彩。品牌在西門町購物中心舉辦了一場彩妝及時裝表演,特設主題攝影區,鼓勵顧客在社交平台上分享他們使用珊瑚色唇膏的照片,即可獲贈取唇膏禮品及購物優惠券。


科技帶動購物新體驗

在歐洲,The Perfume Shop推出了一項全新的數碼服務 Go in Store,結合擴增實境(AR)及人工智能(AI)技術,以先進的方式幫助顧客選擇香水,提升顧客的購物體驗。顧客只需可安坐家中,即可透過視像通話聯繫The Perfume Shop的專業顧問,體驗個人化的諮詢服務。 該服務於本月初推出,至今顧客的銷售轉換率提升超過155%。


共創可持續發展的未來

可持續發展是Z世代顧客十分關心的一個議題。 自2014年起,屈臣氏集團已禁止旗下自家品牌所有彩妝及個人護理磨砂產品使用塑膠微粒,並計劃於2019年底延伸至全部品牌,意味著所有在集團旗下零售店舖售賣的彩妝及個人護理產品將不含塑膠微粒。

在荷蘭,ICI PARIS XL的顧客在Bring Your Bottle Back回收舊瓶活動中可獲額外購物折扣。ICI PARIS XL在2018年收集了超過59,000個舊瓶,僅僅在今年4月就回收了超過19,000個舊瓶。

在英國,Superdrug一直以行動來回應Z世代顧客所重視環保的問題, 並已看到實質的成效。Superdrug的自家品牌彩妝及個人護理產品獲非經動物測試的認證,並於店舖和網上商店清晰標示純素產品。品牌更開設了一家特別的Little Vegan 純素產品期間限定店,為顧客提供1,000款純素彩妝及護膚品。

屈臣氏集團各地業務亦先後採取進一步的可持續性發展措施,為顧客提供塑膠袋的替代品或以獎勵的方式鼓勵顧客不使用膠袋。 例如The Perfume Shop向顧客提供購物紙袋,為英國減少700萬個塑膠購物袋。Savers亦推出一款環保購物袋,並已有接近100萬名顧客購買並使用。 Savers還將其標準的購物袋升級為更堅固及可循環再用的塑膠袋,預計每年可減少使用1,400萬個即棄膠袋。 在亞洲,泰國屈臣氏正努力減少使用膠袋並推出無膠袋日活動,會員只要在每月四號到店舖購物而不使用膠袋,將獲得積分獎勵。

最後,倪文玲表示:「 Z世代是一個與千禧世代非常不同的顧客群。 他們追求個人化體驗及活動,同時關注環境保護及樂於回饋社會,為零售業注入活力,創造可持續發展的未來。」

Gen Z Drives Global Sales for A.S. Watson
The digital native eyes on beauty stores rather than online

Generation Z (Gen Z) were born between 1995 and 2009, they are a cohort that is more populous and influential on consumer spending than any generation before them and they are coming over age and driving retail trends.

A.S. Watson Group (ASW), the world’s largest international health and beauty retailer, puts building customer connectivity at its heart of customer strategy, and has gathered insight from its businesses around the world to compile an overview of what is driving the Gen Z customers and how they can be attracted to its retail brands across the globe.

Malina Ngai, Group Chief Operating Officer of A.S. Watson Group says, “Generation Z is shaping up to have great spending power and they are the future of modern retail. It’s important to stay relevant to them, not only focusing on the products they want, but also the stories and experiences that goes with them. To best meet the demand of Gen Z, customer insight plays a vital role in helping us understand their needs, perceptions and even their shopping behaviour.”

Consumer Powerhouse – Gen Z
In 2019*1 , Gen Z became the largest consumer segment and now account for 32% of the global population of 7.7 billion. A.S. Watson Group operates over 15,200 stores under 12 retail brands in 25 markets and using this extensive network the Group’s insight shows a 23% increase in Gen Z’s spending power in 2018.

The insight shows that on average 86% of Gen Z were beauty shoppers, and over 70% of Gen Z spending is on beauty – the highest among all the generations. In short, Gen Z has become the growth driver of A.S. Watson Group’s business, and is the lynch-pin of current and future plans.

*1 Bloomberg’s research – https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2018-08-20/gen-z-to-outnumber-millennials-within-a-year-demographic-trends


Engaging Personal Experience Matters

While Gen Z is the first generation of digital natives, insight shows that they prefer in-store shopping, they love the social and experience aspects of browsing and shopping at physical stores with their friends. ASW’s customer insight shows that 99% of Gen Z shop offline and they like shopping in “destination stores” (stores in shopping malls and city centres).

The digital natives spend most of their time on screen and they look for brick-and-mortar shopping coupled with technology so in-store digital devices are key drivers to sales success; the introduction of AR and AI in the store environment, as well as the linking of Offline and Online (O+O) experiences through apps and social media. In recent UK focus groups Chloe Skinner, 19, said “I do look online a lot when I’m planning what to buy but I love shopping in stores with my friends, especially when there are fun things for us to do like playing on the makeup mirrors that let us create pics of ourselves to share on Snapchat.”

Gen Z choose their beauty products based on the trend, price and quality and use their phones to read other users’ feedbacks and reviews while browsing in store.


Connecting with Gen Z

To capture the Gen Z customers, A.S. Watson Group business units across the globe have created campaigns to resonate with their local markets.

In Asia, Watsons China talked directly to students with a series of flash mobs and beauty classes in university campuses. In addition, university students in Beijing, Tianjin, Shijiazhuang and Shenyang were treated to a range of on-campus activities throughout April. The events were designed using research into the habits and preferences of Gen Z, to show them how Watsons aligns with their values and help them live a colourful life.

Understanding that a fun and engaging shopping experience is key to target Gen Z customers, Watsons Taiwan opened a Tech Fun store with technology devices including StyleMe, Tap & Shop and Digital Beauty Advisor. It also created a series of events for Gen Z customers to drive the O+O experience. In Spring 2019, Watsons Taiwan launched the #BeautyMyWay campaign in line with Pantone announcing that ‘Living Coral’ the colour of 2019. To bring this to life, a pop makeup fashion show installation was created in the Xiemending shopping centre with a social mechanic asking customers to share photos of them with coral lipstick on social media in exchange for a free lipstick and coupon.


Digital First

In Europe, The Perfume Shop has introduced a new digital service – Go in Store – to enhance the shopping experience for its customers and modernise choosing perfume in an age of AI and AR technology. The service connects online shoppers with one of The Perfume Shop’s store experts, in a live video chat, enabling them to get a personalised consultation and be shown around the store from the comfort of their own home. The service launched earlier this month and since then there has been conversion rate increase of over 155% for those interacting with the service.


Sustainability Counts

Sustainability concerns are a big factor for Gen Z customers. Since 2014, A.S. Watson Group banned the use of microplastic in its rinse-off own brand cosmetics or personal care scrub products and by the end of 2019, this ban will extend to all brands too, meaning no microplastic will be found in any rinse-off cosmetics or personal care products sold in the stores.

In the Netherlands, ICI PARIS XL customers earned a discount on purchases in the Bring Your Bottle Back campaign. Over 59,000 bottles were collected in 2018 and over 19,000 bottles were returned this April alone.
In the UK, Superdrug has seen dividends in talking to the Gen Z customers about issues it knows are important to them, it has certified as its own brand beauty and personal care products as cruelty free and clearly signs vegan products in stores and online. It opened a special Little Vegan Pop Up Shop which offered 1,000 vegan beauty essentials.

Further initiatives have seen businesses across the A.S. Watson Group offer customer alternative to plastic bags or incentives not to buy them. For example, by offering customers paper carrier bags, The Perfume Shop stopped 7 million plastic carrier bags being introduced to the UK and Savers introduced a bag for life which almost a million customers bought. Savers also upgraded its standard carrier bag to a more robust reusable bag and this will remove the use of 14 million single use plastic bags each year. In Asia, Watsons Thailand is working to reduce plastic bag usage and running the No Bag Day Campaign which means on the 4th of every month, all members who don’t take a plastic bag receive bonus points, to reward them for joining the green movement.

In conclusion, Malina Ngai, comments; “Generation Z is a very different customer to the Millennials that came before them. They are reinvigorating the retail industry with their desire for experience and activities, while at the same time helping shape a more sustainable future with their emphasis on the environment and doing good.”