屈臣氏田徑會舉辦疫情以來香港首個大型田徑比賽 吸引超過2,800人次參與

屈臣氏田徑會舉辦疫情以來香港首個大型田徑比賽 吸引超過2,800人次參與


屈臣氏田徑會周年大賽2021 (下稱「周年大賽」),剛於10月1至3日假灣仔運動場舉行,是疫情近兩年以來香港首個大型田徑比賽,吸引超過2,800人次參與33 個項目。

周年大賽於2009年首次舉行,是屈臣氏集團旗下屈臣氏田徑會的年度標誌性活動,獲香港田徑總會評定為認可賽事,被譽為本地最高水平的青少年田徑賽事。周年大賽旨在推動本地青少年田徑運動的發展,為他們提供一個較高標準的競技平台,發揮潛能,盡展所長。屈臣氏田徑會多年來孕育不少田徑精英,共有1,000名會員,當中52名運動員及教練為香港田徑隊成員。

賽事分成男女子組,並按年齡分成6個不同年齡比賽組別。根據每組別的比賽標準,賽事共設有13個徑賽項目、6個田賽項目及2個接力項目*,藉此全面提升田徑項目整體水平。為進一步促進兒童田徑發展,自2012年起大會更舉辦兒童競技賽,規格參照國際田聯兒童田徑發展模式進行。

大會更邀得東京奧運香港女子競走代表程小雅出席活動,程小雅自2014起成為屈臣氏田徑會運動員,在參與東京奧運後首度亮相本地田徑賽事,為周年大賽最佳運動員頒獎,於活動中肯定和鼓勵得獎者在運動道路上堅持追夢,為港爭光。

屈臣氏集團(亞洲及歐洲)行政總裁倪文玲表示:「奧運及全運會為香港掀起運動熱潮,當中屈臣氏田徑會運動員程小雅亦參與其中,很高興看見她在東京為香港出戰競走項目,並在屈臣氏田徑會周年大賽中擔任頒獎嘉賓,勉勵一眾後輩。出色的運動員均在青少年時期綻放光芒,屈臣氏田徑會致力為香港田徑界訓練新一代運動員,而周年大賽正是一個為年輕人而設的平台,讓他們吸收大賽經驗。作為一名前田徑運動員,我期望屈臣氏田徑會能培育更多優秀選手,繼續為香港爭光。」

屈臣氏集團高級社區關係經理徐惠芬負責籌備屈臣氏田徑會周年大賽並表示:「我們希望賽事順利完成後,會令更多田徑會及學校有信心恢復舉辦運動會;運動員重返訓練及比賽實在刻不容緩,能讓他們盡快回復高水準表現。」

東京奧運香港女子競走代表程小雅:「屈臣氏田徑會周年大賽是香港體壇最大型田徑比賽之一,好興奮可以出席疫情以來香港首個大型田徑比賽,看到年輕運動員把握機會,積極參與運動賽事,實在令人鼓舞。我鼓勵大家繼續放膽於體壇振翅高飛,努力爭取佳績,遇到困難千萬不要退縮,我們要堅持追尋自己的夢想,勇於嘗試。」

最佳運動員獎項名單:
女子組
招慧欣 U20
李敏慈 U18
李紫桃 U16
林姸彤U14
馬凱淇 U12
田曉澄 U10

男子組
梁德洋 U20
周凱揚 U18
陳睿浲 U16
王諾弘U14
劉愷榛 U12
陳澤邦 U10

破香港紀錄項目:
男子U20鐵餅 (1.75公斤) – 黃君豫 45.79米 (舊紀錄:44.34米)
男子U18 400米欄 (0.838米) – 曾健豪 54.57秒 (舊紀錄:55.16秒)
男子U18三級跳遠 – 張永樂 14.49米 (舊紀錄:14.45米)

Watsons Athletic Club Held the First Large-scale Athletics Competition in Hong Kong Since the Pandemic & Attracted Over 2,800 Participants

Watsons Athletic Club Held the First Large-scale Athletics Competition in Hong Kong Since the Pandemic & Attracted Over 2,800 Participants


The Watsons Athletic Club Annual Challenge 2021 (the Annual Challenge) was held from 1 to 3 October 2021 in the Wan Chai Sports Ground. This was the first large-scale athletics competition in Hong Kong since the pandemic, attracting over 2,800 participants across 33 events.

The Annual Challenge has been held since 2009, and is a signature event of Watsons Athletic Club (WAC) established by A.S. Watson Group. Sanctioned by Hong Kong Association of Athletics Affiliates (HKAAA), the race has been regarded as the athletic event for local youngsters with the highest performance marks. The Annual Challenge aims to promote the development of local youth participation in track and field sports by providing youngsters with a high-quality competition platform, so that they can realise their potential and show their competence. Throughout the years, WAC has been a breeding ground for many athletic elites, with over 1,000 club members, among which 52 are athlete and coach members of the Hong Kong Athletics Team.

The events of the Annual Challenge were offered by gender under 6 separate age groups across a total of 13 track events, 6 field events and 2 relay events*, through which the level of athletic sport can be enhanced. To further step-up on the progress in children’s track and field sport, WAC has been organising “Kid’s Athletics Challenge” since 2012, with due reference to the children’s track and field development model of the International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF).

This year, WAC invited Jessica Ching, Hong Kong Race-walking representative in the Tokyo Olympics, to attend the Annual Challenge. Jessica has been a member of WAC since 2014. This was her first public appearance since returning from the Tokyo Olympics, joining the day as guest presenter for the ‘Best Athlete Award”, and offer her words of encouragement to winners, commending their efforts in pursuing sport excellence.

Malina Ngai, CEO of A.S. Watson Group (Asia & Europe) said, “The Olympic Games and the National Games have brought Hong Kong into a state of sporting frenzy. We are glad to witness Jessica, also a Watsons Athletic Club member, to represent Hong Kong for Race-walking in the Tokyo Olympics. On top of that, she inspires the Club’s younger generation of athletes with her participation as the guest presenter at our Annual Challenge. Outstanding athletes more often begin to shine since their youth, and seeing athletes like Jessica assures us that Watsons Athletic Club is on the right track in supporting the new generation of athletes and our Annual Challenge is a superb platform for them to gain experience. I was once a member of the Hong Kong Athletics Team, and it is therefore my aspiration to see Watsons Athletic Club helping to nurture more outstanding athletes, who go on to represent Hong Kong with pride.”

Marina Tsui, Senior Community Relations Manager of A.S. Watson Group, is responsible for organising the Annual Challenge, “We hope the success of the event will encourage more athletics clubs and schools to organise competitions for athletes. It is urgent that athletes are given chance to go back to normal training and competitions in order to catch up with the performance standards.”

Jessica Ching, Hong Kong Race-walking representative for the Tokyo Olympics said, “The Watsons Athletic Club Annual Challenge is one of the largest track and field meet in Hong Kong, and I am thrilled to be attending the first large-scale athletics competition since the pandemic struck. Seeing young athletes make the best out of this opportunity to compete is especially encouraging. My heart goes to all the youngsters here, have a big heart and go after your dreams! Do not hold back when you are challenged; because challenges are for us to overcome. Keep your heads up and chase after your ambitions; the world is waiting for us to just give it a try!”

Best Athlete Award Winners:
Girls
Chiu Wai Yan U20
Lee Man Chi U18
Li Tsz To U16
Lam Yin Tung U14
Ma Hoi Ki U12
Tin Hiu Ching U10

Boys
Leung Tak Yeung U20
Chau Choi Yeung U18
Chan Yui Fung U16
Wang Nok Wang U14
Lau Hoi Tsun U12
Chan Chak Pong Matthias U10

Hong Kong Record-breaking Events:
Men’s U20 Discus Throw (1.75kg) – Wong Kwan Yu 45.79m (Previous record: 44.34m)
Men’s U18 400m Hurdles (0.838m) – Tsang Kin Ho 54.57s (Previous record: 55.16s)
Men’s U18 Triple Jump – Cheung Wing Lok 14.49m (Previous record: 14.45m)

*Events include 60m, 100m, 200m, 400m, 800m, 1500m, 3000m, 5000m, 100m Hurdles, 110m Hurdles, 400m Hurdles, 2000m Steeplechase, 3000m Steeplechase, High Jump, Long Jump, Triple Jump, Shot Put, Discus, Javelin and Kids’ Challenge Races.