中國屈臣氏O+O零售孕育初創本土品牌 加速業務增長達200%

2021年 11月 17日 星期三 中國大陸亞洲屈臣氏


要打進總收益達5000億人民幣的內地美妝市場 ,單靠網購平台能為業務帶來迅速增長嗎?事實上,不少初創品牌經已意識到隨著競爭不斷增加,吸引網購平台流量的成本水漲船高,行銷推廣效率越來越低,取得盈利越來越艱難。要以較低成本獲得盈利,許多美妝及護膚初創品牌開始轉營,從投放大量資源購買流量,轉至與零售商合作,建設品牌。

作為領導市場的零售商,中國屈臣氏率先開創O+O零售新標準,將線下與線上平台無縫結合,為初創品牌提供了全面的平台,幫助他們拓展業務,對準目標顧客,直接增加銷售。

數據分析成為品牌打入市場的捷徑
內地零售不再由網購平台主導,而是邁進O+O新零售時代,同時透過線下及線上平台直接與顧客互動,快速創造口碑。O+O新零售時代運用先進的大數據技術,接觸目標顧客,加速品牌業務增長。中國屈臣氏在店內提供的專屬SPA服務,其中35%的顧客均選擇美白嫩膚體驗,可見女性顧客對美白的需求。有見及此,屈臣氏為女性顧客提供更精準的內容,並成功協助佰草集典萃煙醯胺煥亮精華露系列滿足一線、二線城市年齡介乎27至36歲的女性顧客的美白護膚需要。

紮根中國內地市場多年,屈臣氏坐擁龐大店舖網路及美妝顧問,疫情期間,顧客已習慣在雲店向美妝顧問下單,讓實體店舖銷售在線上完成。透過先進的數據分析,屈臣氏輕易掌握顧客喜好,有助瞄準初創品牌的目標顧客,從不同渠道推薦適合他們的產品。屈臣氏為國內品牌佰草集典萃系列創造O+O商機,借助短信適時推送優惠券,並透過直播、小紅書和種草社等優質社交媒體內容,加強品牌與顧客之間的連繫。

屈臣氏O+O零售模式完美融合線下線上的優勢,通過雲店技術將實體店舖與線上平台無縫融合,顧客在雲店下單後,最快30分鐘送達府上,滿足顧客的即時需求。O+O零售模式有助品牌拓展業務,讓佰草集典萃煙醯胺煥亮精華露迅即成為顧客首選的美白精華,線下及線上平台刷新初創品牌紀錄,銷售環比上升達200%。

O+O零售助品牌把試用者轉為「擁躉」
O+O零售模式的獨特之處,除了讓顧客隨時隨地購物外,更借助線下實體店舖為顧客提供無可取代的購物體驗。

薇諾娜是專為敏感肌膚而設的護膚品牌,屈臣氏O+O零售平台強化了薇諾娜的線下體驗,孕育品牌成長。作為護膚品牌,體驗是顧客購物的關鍵因素,屈臣氏的門市覆蓋近500個城市,店內設有專業皮膚分析儀器,為顧客提供更全面的購物體驗。同時屈臣氏通過直播、應用程式和微信小程式把線上顧客帶到線下體驗,同時線下顧客在網上分享,讓他們轉化為品牌忠實粉絲,線下線上建立更緊密的連繫。

「屈奇館」催化更多初創品牌誕生
現進入了內地新消費品牌下一個黃金十年,推出切合市場需求的新產品有效加速品牌增長。在屈臣氏完善的O+O生態系統和強大媒體平台下,屈臣氏可以有效幫助初創美妝護膚品牌快速冒起,盡展發展潛力。

有見及此,中國屈臣氏創立了「屈奇館」初創品牌概念店,匯聚多個仍未在屈臣氏實體店上架的初創品牌,讓會員免費試用,然後發表試用報告,屈臣氏亦會邀請美妝行業專家進行專業評測。經過顧客和專家雙重把關,才決定品牌能否正式進駐屈臣氏O+O零售平台。這個模式不僅為初創品牌節省市場調查開支,更提供用戶實測和專家評測,幫助新品牌短時間內取得顧客信任,更容易成功打入市場。為發掘內地美妝護膚品牌的新力軍,屈臣氏與聯合利華合作,嚴選「聯合U創」優質初創品牌加入屈奇館。

「關二哥」是其中一個內地初創品牌,產品憑藉潮流復古的包裝和貼合亞洲男士品味的東方檀香突圍而出。在屈奇館推出試用後,「關二哥」獲得將近40,000名會員關注,鎖定一批追求專業頭髮造型的男性顧客。關二哥創始人王陶正表示:「屈臣氏屈奇館賦予顧客O+O體驗,新品牌多了一張王牌,令男士品牌可以接觸女性並為其另一半購買產品,『她經濟』和『他經濟』的化學反應將進一步令更多像『關二哥』的初創品牌帶來全新的生命力。」

屈奇館另一新晉品牌「顏世吟」於2019年成立,是以Z世代為目標顧客的彩妝潮流品牌。與其他初創品牌一樣,顏世吟需要集中資源,以低成本推出熱賣產品。產品登陸屈奇館後,其時髦、有趣實用的彩妝產品獲得超過40,000名會員關注,大量會員踴躍試用,並發表試用報告,好評如潮。顏世吟創始人顏銘表示:「年輕品牌充滿活力,更需要依靠強大的O+O平台的幫助;在屈臣氏屈奇館助力下,顏世吟能為更多追求潮流的顧客帶來玩味十足的產品,激發生活的靈感與創造力。」

屈臣氏成立屈奇館,定位已不再僅僅是零售商,而是幫助品牌拓展業務的渠道,用嶄新方式將顧客和品牌連繫起來,讓更多知名品牌及初創品牌直接對準目標顧客。

中國屈臣氏行政總裁高宏達(Kulvinder Birring) 指出:「新品牌不斷湧現,國內初創品牌要突圍而出,必需透過不同渠道接觸顧客,而這正是屈臣氏O+O模式的魅力,線下與線上平台無縫融合,便捷與體驗並重,同時有助建立品牌及增加銷售;越來越多美妝品牌認同O+O線下與線上零售策略是業務增長的致勝關鍵。」

*資料來源: 前瞻產業研究院 – 中國內地美妝行業市場現狀及發展趨勢分析

Watsons China Incubates Start-up Brands with Sales Growth of 200%


1 WATsNEW 1024x576 Watsons China Incubates Start up Brands with Sales Growth of 200%

To enter the Chinese beauty products market which is worth a total revenue of RMB500 billion, can brands rely solely on online platforms to expand their businesses? Many start-ups have begun to realise that in the face of increasingly tense competition, the cost to drive traffic has increased, and the efficiency of marketing promotion is getting lower. In order to drive profit at a lower cost, many beauty and skincare start-ups have changed their operation model – from putting large amounts of resources to drive traffic to building their brands with the help of retailers.

The demand for start-up brands is growing stronger and faster than traditional brands. As the leading retailer in Mainland China, Watsons sets O+O (Offline plus Online) as the new standard for retail, seamlessly integrating offline and online platforms to help start-up brands expand their businesses, reach target audiences and increase sales.

Using Data Analysis to Help Brands Enter the Market
The retail industry in Mainland China is no longer solely led by online platforms. We have entered the new O+O retail era where brands can interact with customers offline and online, and brand reputation can be built within a short period of time. O+O retail model uses big data to connect with target audiences and fosters business growth. For example, among the customers who use SPA services in Watsons China, 35% of them chose whitening treatments, showing that female customers are interested in whitening. Based on this insight, Watsons could provide more accurate content to help products like Herborist Derma Niacinamide Brightening Essence to meet the skin care needs of female customers aged between 27 and 36 in first and second-tier cities.

Watsons China has an extensive store network and beauty advisors. During the pandemic, customers switched to shopping online. With advanced data analytic capability, Watsons has gotten to know its customers’ preferences and is able to identify the right target audience for start-up brands. Watsons has successfully helped the brand Herborist Derma explore new O+O opportunities by sending coupons to customers through SMS, and delivering content through livestreaming, Xiao Hong Shu and Grass Seeding. Through these initiatives, Watsons is able to strengthen relationships between the brands and their customers.

Watsons O+O retail model seamlessly integrates offline and online platforms, using cloud technology to connect physical stores with online platforms. After customers place their orders in the cloud stores, products can be delivered to their homes within 30 minutes, meeting customer’s immediate demand. The O+O retail model can also help brands to expand their businesses. For instance, Herborist Derma Niacinamide Brightening Essence has quickly become the customers’ top choice in whitening essence. Sales went up by 200%, which broke the start-up brand’s record.

O+O Retail Converts Fans into Brand Advocates
The O+O retail model not only allows customers to shop whenever they want to, it also gives customers a shopping experience like no other.

Winona is a skincare brand specially designed for sensitive skin. Watsons’ O+O retail strengthens Winona’s offline experience and helps the brand to grow. The brand understands that a great shopping experience is crucial to its success, with Watsons’ network of stores in nearly 500 cities, the brand can take advantage its professional skin analysis equipment in store to provide customers with a more comprehensive shopping experience. At the same time, online customers were brought offline through live broadcasts, apps and WeChat, turning them into loyal fans, while establishing closer connections both offline and online.

WATsNEW – The Incubator for Start-up Brands
We have now entered the next golden decade for consumer brands. In this new era, launching new products that meets market demands can effectively accelerate brand growth. With Watsons O+O ecosystem and powerful media platform, Watsons can help start-up beauty and skincare brands to stand out from keen competition.

Watsons China has established the WATsNEW online concept store, bringing together a selection of start-up brands that have not yet been listed in Watsons physical stores. Members can try these brands for free and submit a trial report. Watsons will also invite beauty industry experts to conduct professional reviews. After vetting the brands with customers and experts, Watsons then decides whether a brand can officially enter the Watsons O+O retail platform. This model not only helps start-up brands to save market research costs, it also provides real users and experts’ evaluation. New brands can gain customers’ trust within a short period of time, making it easier to successfully enter the market. In order to discover the new beauty and skincare brands in the Mainland, Watsons has cooperated with Unilever to select “UniExcubator” high-quality start-up brands to be featured on WATsNEW.

KWAN YEE GOR is a start-up brand in Mainland China, its product gained popularity with its trendy packaging and sandalwood scent suited to Asian men. After KWAN YEE GOR was launched on WATsNEW, it attracted nearly 40,000 fans, and has targeted a group of male customers who are looking for professional hair care products. Tony Wang, the founder of KWAN YEE GOR said, “Through the O+O experience given to customers by WATsNEW, we have a new marketing channel, allowing our men’s product brand to reach women who purchase products for their partners. The “Her economy” and “He economy” can bring more possibility to start-up brands like KWAN YEE GOR.”

YNY Cosmetics is another newcomer to be featured on WATsNEW. Established in 2019, the brand is a trendy makeup brand targeting the Gen Z. Like other start-up brands, YNY Cosmetics needs to carefully allocate resources to launch its popular products at a low cost. After the product landed on WATsNEW, the fashionable, quality and fun makeup products have attracted the attention of more than 40,000 members. A lot of members were willing to try the products and sent their testing reports with authentic reviews. Camille Yan, the founder of YNY Cosmetics says, “Young brands are a great force to be reckoned with and they need to rely on a powerful O+O platform for incubation. With the help of Watsons WATsNEW, YNY Cosmetics can bring trendy products to all fashion gurus, helping them to get inspired and be creative.”

With the launch of WATsNEW, Watsons is no longer just a retailer, but a channel to help brands expand their business. Watsons finds new ways to connect customers to brands, so that internationally renowned or start up brands can easily find their target customers.

Kulvinder Birring, CEO of Watsons China says, “As new brands continue to emerge, start-up brands must reach out to customers through different channels to stand out. This is what makes Watsons’ O+O model so special. Offline and online platforms are seamlessly integrated to give customers convenience and a great shopping experience. It can also help establish brand awareness and increase sales volume. More and more beauty brands now agree that the O+O retail strategy is the key to success in business growth.”

*Source: Qianzhan Intelligence – Market analysis and development trend of Mainland China’s beauty industry