屈臣氏集團加強環保承諾
致力減少塑膠廢料 使用可持續棕櫚油

banner 1200x396 屈臣氏集團加強環保承諾 <br>致力減少塑膠廢料   使用可持續棕櫚油

屈臣氏集團宣佈成為首個簽署《全球減塑承諾》(New Plastics Economy Global Commitment)的保健及美容零售商,進一步承擔環保責任,積極減少產生塑膠廢料,並成為可持續棕櫚油圓桌會議(Roundtable on Sustainable Palm Oil)的成員,解決棕櫚油對環境的影響。

屈臣氏集團一直以來十分重視可持續發展,並一直於各個營運市場推動一系列可持續發展的措施,以實踐集團2030年企業可持續發展藍圖的兩項重點目標—更完善的廢物管理和更負責任的自家品牌產品。

屈臣氏集團首席營運總監及集團(亞洲及歐洲)行政總裁倪文玲表示:「集團了解顧客對可持續發展的議題日益關注,他們會選擇秉持相同理念、認真看待可持續發展的品牌。作為全球最大的國際保健美容零售商,我們有責任為生態環境帶來更多正面的改變,創造一個可持續發展的環境,並為顧客提供更多可持續產品的選擇。」

減塑行動 – 2030年全面禁止PVC
透過參與《全球減塑承諾》,屈臣氏集團與旗下業務單位致力去除不必要的產品包裝,並從源頭著手減少塑膠污染。

為解決塑膠微粒帶來的嚴重污染問題,屈臣氏集團自2014年起全面禁止其自家品牌的美容或個人護理產品使用塑膠微粒,並於2020年1月延伸至全部品牌,即於零售店舖停售所有含塑膠微粒成分的美容及個人護理潔膚產品。

自2015起,屈臣氏集團開始採用100% rPET物料製造可回收膠樽,讓屈臣氏蒸餾水成為香港首個使用再生塑膠物料的飲品製造商。屈臣氏蒸餾水更進一步實踐發展循環經濟,於2019年推出嶄新的智能膠樽回收機,透過獎賞鼓勵顧客回收使用過的飲品膠樽,作為品牌rPET原材料的主要來源。屈臣氏蒸餾水預算十年後共設置四百部Green Point智能膠樽回收機,屆時可為品牌提供足夠的rPET原材料製造蒸餾水膠樽。

屈臣氏集團簽署《全球減塑承諾》中,承諾提升旗下自家品牌產品包裝的環保要求:
• 避免過度包裝及減少聚氯乙烯 (PVC)使用量,除去不必要的塑膠包裝,並目標於2030年前全面淘汰PVC
• 如再生塑膠供應足夠,於2025年前,塑膠產品包裝至少使用20%再生物料
• 鼓勵使用可回收或循環再用的產品包裝

承諾使用可持續棕櫚油
屈臣氏集團致力確保自家品牌產品以負責任並具可持續性方式生產,日前加入成為可持續棕櫚油圓桌會議(RSPO)的認證成員,該國際領先環保組織旨在促進棕櫚油行業合符社會和環境責任。

Kruidvat和Superdrug率先於一系列自家品牌產品中採用由RSPO認證的棕櫚油,集團正檢視所有自家品牌系列,並在2021年底前確認將會使用可持續棕櫚油的其他自家品牌。

倪文玲續指:「屈臣氏集團很榮幸參與兩項重要的可持續發展措施,藉此提高大眾的環保意識。同時,我們亦欣然率先成為首個簽署《全球減塑承諾》的保健及美容零售商,希望更多零售商能作出這些有意義的承諾,一起創造更可持續的生態環境。」

A.S. Watson Group Pledges to Reduce Its Plastic Waste and Support the Use of Sustainable Palm Oil

banner 1200x396 A.S. Watson Group Pledges to Reduce Its Plastic Waste and Support the Use of Sustainable Palm Oil

A.S. Watson Group has announced to take on further responsibility for environmental sustainability by being the first health and beauty retailer to sign-up to the New Plastics Economy (NPE) Global Commitment to reduce plastic waste. It also has taken a Group membership with the Roundtable on Sustainable Palm Oil (RSPO) to help address the environmental impact of palm oil.

With its long-term commitment towards sustainability, the Group has been driving a wide range of sustainability initiatives across different markets to strengthen two core goals to its 2030 Group Sustainability Roadmap – better waste management and more responsible Own Brand products.

Malina Ngai, Group COO of A.S. Watson Group and CEO of A.S. Watson (Asia & Europe), said, “We know our customers are increasingly aware of sustainability issues and therefore expect their chosen brands to share the same values as they do. As the world’s largest international health and beauty retailer, we feel it is our responsibility to do MORE, so we are making a commitment to create a more sustainable environment and offer more sustainable product choices to our customers.”

LESS Plastic, LESS Waste
A Complete Ban on PVC by 2030
By participating in the New Plastics Economy Global Commitment initiative, A.S. Watson will join forces with its business units to eliminate unnecessary plastic and to help reduce plastic pollution at the source.

To help tackle the serious issue of microplastic pollution, since 2014, A.S. Watson has banned the use of microplastics in its rinse-off Own Brand cosmetics/personal care scrub products. This ban extended to all Own Brand and consumer brand products sold in all stores by January 2020.

A.S. Watson has also been using 100% recycled PET (rPET) in its bottled water business since 2015, making Watsons Water the first producer to use recycled plastic in Hong Kong. The brand further solidified its commitment to developing a circular economy for plastics in 2019 by launching the very first reverse vending machine to collect used plastic bottles in the city. Using economic incentives to encourage the public to utilise the reverse vending machines, it has now become a source of rPET raw materials for the brand. Watsons Water estimates that the 400 Green Point Smart Water Bottle Reverse Vending Machines are able to provide enough rPET raw materials to cover the full production capacity of Watsons Water by 2030.

In terms of packaging for its Own Brand products, by signing up the New Plastics Economy Global Commitment, A.S. Watson Group has pledged that it will:
• Eliminate unnecessary plastic by avoiding over-packaging and halving PVC use, with a complete ban on PVC by 2030
• Use a minimum of 20% recycled plastic content in plastic packaging by 2025, if the supply of recycled plastic permits it
• Promote packaging that is recyclable or reusable

Committed to Using More Sustainable Palm Oil

As part of its commitment to promote responsible Own Brand products, A.S. Watson has taken a Group membership with the Roundtable for Sustainable Palm Oil, a leading organisation promoting social and environmental compliance in the palm oil industry.

Kruidvat and Superdrug have already taken the lead in using RSPO certified palm oil in a selection of their Own Brand products. The Group is currently reviewing its whole Own Brand portfolio to identify other brands that can be added to its commitment by the end of 2021.

“A.S. Watson is proud to enhance public awareness on sustainability issues by supporting two new important environmental initiatives. We are delighted to take the lead in our industry to become the first health and beauty retailer to join the New Plastics Economy Global Commitment. We hope that more retail groups can also make these meaningful pledges so that together we can make our planet more sustainable,” Ngai added.